Intensive care

Intensive care is a service for critically ill patients who require constant medical attention and a higher level of medical and nursing expertise than is available on the general wards.

Overview

Patients tend to be admitted after surgery or following an accident or severe illness. They may be unable to breathe on their own or have multiple organ failure.  Intensive care beds have specialist monitoring equipment and patients requiring intensive care receive one-to-one care, high dependency patients are cared for on a two patients-to-one nurse basis.

Scunthorpe General Hospital has an intensive care unit (ICU) with eight beds: six for intensive care, two for high dependency. Diana, Princess of Wales Hospital has an intensive therapy unit (ITU) with seven beds: five for intensive care, two for high dependency.

Our philosophy is to provide the best possible care delivered by the experience and expertise of our highly skilled team of doctors, nurses and other healthcare staff. Clinical nurse educators work with both units providing professional development and education of staff on the unit.

Visiting arrangements

We try to be as flexible as possible in respect to visiting but our main priority is the privacy and safety of our critically care patients so sometimes restrictions are put in place.

Grimsby:

We would appreciate it if visitors could try and avoid morning visiting where possible as this can be difficult. Entrance to the units is via intercom only.

Scunthorpe:

Visiting times are 1pm to 3pm and 6pm to 8pm. Visiting outside of these times is at the discretion of the nurse in charge.

Developments

We have seen a sustained increase in demand for our beds as patients coming into our hospitals are sicker, they have more complex needs and advances in new treatments and interventions means we can treat more people than perhaps we did a decade ago. One example is patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease are now being treated with non-invasive ventilation, which ten years ago was not available. The ICU at Scunthorpe is one of only two in the Yorkshire and Humberside Critical Care Network to provide high frequency oscillatory ventilation for lung patients. Both units have haemofiltration machines for patients in kidney failure. The ITU at Grimsby has a level 1 isolation cubicle which means they can treat highly infectious patients.

Key staff

Scunthorpe

Amanda Holmes, ICU manager, amanda.holmes6@nhs.net
Dr Jerry Thomas, lead consultant, jerry.thomas@nhs.net
Nick Harrison. clinical nurse educator, nick.harrison2@nhs.net

Grimsby

Dr Annang Asumang, lead consultant, annang.asumang@nhs.net
Mr Andrew Lawson, clinical nurse manager, andrew.lawson1@nhs.net
Sr Maggie Smith, clinical nurse educator, maggie.smith8@nhs.net

Contact us

Grimsby

Intensive Therapy Unit
First floor
Diana, Princess of Wales Hospital
Scartho Road
Grimsby
North East Lincolnshire
DN33 2BA
(01472) 875316

Scunthorpe

Intensive Care Unit
E Floor
Scunthorpe General Hospital
Cliff Gardens
Scunthorpe
North Lincolnshire
DN15 7BH
03033 302320

Patient information leaflets

Consultants